Zana Ranđelović Brown paints positive feelings

Screen Shot 2017-04-24 at 9.40.19 AMZana Ranđelović Brown creates elegant and poetic paintings which caught my eye on her instagram profile. I immediately liked the peaceful and positive atmosphere of her work and was happy to be able to know more about her.

Zana says that this need to spread “positive ideas and energy” came from her early life spent during the Yugoslavian war who “taught (her) how vulnerable and naive humanity is.” Out of this experience, she decided to focus on the bright side. She now lives and work in New Orleans. Zana, thanks sharing about your universe!

Zana, can you tell me about yourself and your artistic path?

My first memories are drawings. I clearly remember drawing my first teddy bear….then drawing abstracts on the wallpaper behind the sofa. I was always creative and wild. In later years I explored creativity throughout various forms of art. I was an actor, studied landscape architecture, fine art and interior design. I travelled, lived and worked in different cities, but I only feel at home in Serbia and New Orleans. In recent years, I returned to my first love, painting, and I feel like I completed the circle.  

Who are your main influencers?

I paint from within my soul and heart. My inner energy and emotions are the main influencers.

Screen Shot 2017-04-24 at 9.23.18 AMWhat was the inspiration for your theme of these flowerhead women?

The inspiration comes from my personal life experiences, but the message is always the same: “Close your eyes and see.” In this troublesome world, where everything is pulsating quite fast paced, the only way to breathe and feel alive is to close your eyes and get in touch with your inner self. All the answers are there. All we need is right there. Once we find that inner self and our life energy, we can start blooming.

About the Flowerhead series

She doesn’t show her face but her emotions instead. Her eyes are closed, so that she can look inward. Her mouth is silent so that she can listen to the pulse of the world that surrounds her. She cannot be heard, only felt.
Sometimes mild, at other times bursting with energy, she is the manifestation of love.

What do you like most in your work?

I believe that my work carries strong energy. That energy can touch and influence lives.  

Screen Shot 2017-04-24 at 9.20.07 AMWhat do you want to achieve with your art?

I hope that my art will offer different perspective to the people who witness it. I hope it will inspire and cultivate their energy and emotions.

Was there a specific moment or person that was key in your career? 

There is more likely a set of events and people that brought me to this moment. Growing up in the middle of the Yugoslavian war taught me how vulnerable and naive humanity is. This haunted me for many years, but also gave me a depth and freed my fears. It also brought me to the realization that I have to step up and reconnect with my real life values and myself. I needed to be and do my best. And spread that positive ideas and energy. Painting came as a natural medium for that expression and to go even further, my art is about being in peace, with yourself, with the environment and humanity. 

Screen Shot 2017-04-24 at 9.21.17 AMWhat is the question you’re asked the most?  Where are you from?

What is the question you’d like to be asked?  Any meaningful question is a good question.  

What are your projects for the coming months?

I just finished a season of exhibits in the United States and I will be migrating to my Serbian base for the summer. In the next few months, I will be capturing the moments of inspiration and travelling throughout Europe. I will keep a visual diary of my nomad art adventures on my instagram page @zanabrownstudio

Screen Shot 2017-04-24 at 9.19.39 AMTo know more and follow Zana Brown:

zanabrownstudio.com

facebook.com/zanabrownstudio

instagram.com/zanabrownstudio

 

 

Leave a Reply

