Vincenzo Dell’Avvento: blurring the line between photography and painting

Vincenzo-DellAvvento-Profile_Picture-Stillevens-Kunst-Realisme-Galeriei-508x677As an admirer of photorealism and hyperrealism, I was drawn to the work of the photographer Vincenzo Dell’Avvento, listed among the New Talents 2017 of Dutch Photography.

Vincenzo is known for his still life fine art photos which blur with talent the line between photography and painting. He manages to create new ways of seeing every day objects and reveal their beauty… If Vermeer was alive today, would he grab brushes or a camera?

Tell us about your art and your artistic path: how did you become a fine art photographer?

I make still life photos! A couple of years ago I bought a DSLR (Digital Single Lens Reflex) and started with landscape photography. I loved being in the woods and going on vacation to take photographs. After a year or so I started with portraits. A friend of mine and her daughter were my subjects: we have had many afternoons of fun and cool pictures. But I felt something was missing, I did not know what is was.

brood-aardbeien-glas-stillevenWhen I was younger I was always looking at paintings from the Renaissance, Michel Angelo, Da Vinci and Botticelli and a lot of others. Really loved that, looking at their mastership. So I always had an interest in art, and I began to look further what kind of art there was. I came across Trompe L’oeil 4 years ago and I was hooked! From then on, I was on the path of the still life.  From there I came across hyperrealism and looked up some American and Dutch painters in that genre and then I was off. I started to experiment with light, hard light, soft light and some of the subjects used in still life.

I would describe the feel of my photographs as a mix between realism and still life from the Dutch golden age.  Most of the time I use soft light but with the crispness of realism, I really like that mix.

What do you want to achieve with your art?

My photographs reverses the usual relationship of photography to painting. Rather than using photography as an inspiration and means for painting, as photorealists do, I make photographs inspired by realist paintings and drawings. I also find inspiration in the paintings of the old masters from the 17th century on to the 20th century. Particularly the soft light that you find a lot in my photographs.

Other than that I have no particular goal, I like to create and being creative and make something beautiful.  My photographs contain no deeper meaning than their immediate aesthetic impact. The purpose of my art is to create works of art for joy and beauty and to create new ways of seeing familiar objects. Everyone can make their own opinion on it.

Aardbeien-mes-stilleven-fotografieHow do you get inspired for your new creations?

I get inspiration from different kind of areas. I like to read, so I get ideas from that. Movies also are an  inspiration. Further areas are art in general and masters of photography, painters. Still life from the golden age here in the Netherlands. Lots of inspiration in the world!

Who are your favorite artists or influencers?

I have different favorites from different genres and different times, but to name a few: Giorgio Morandi,  Francisco Goya, Willem Claeszoon Heda, Pieter Claesz, Willem Kalf, Adriaen Coorte, Henk Helmantel, Tjalf Sparnaay, Jacob A. Pfeiffer, Robert Mapplethorpe, MAN RAY, Irving Penn, Ansel Adams, Sharon Core.

What do you like the most in your job?

I like being creative and when I am creating a still life I like the solitude. Keep trying and changing until you have the RIGHT picture, the one you set out to get. Unfortunately I don’t get the right image a lot, but that is part of the creative process I think… Keep up the hard work and once in awhile you get rewarded with a nice image.

Rode-druiven-stilleven-fotografieDo you have an anecdote that you’d like to share?

Before I had my DSLR I had a small point and shoot Canon. So I had the idea I wanted to make ‘real’ photos and went to the store. The same afternoon I went to the train tracks near my house and began with a landscape. Full of enthusiasm I got home and loaded the pictures….my god they were awful! Something must be wrong with my new camera! I was about to go to the store to get it replaced when I did some research on the internet….I started with all manual settings…and you had to develop your RAW files! Little did I know! It saved me a little embarrassment in the store.

What is the question you’re asked you the most?

Is it a painting or a photograph?

What is the question you’d like to be asked?

Where can I buy a print?

What are your projects for the coming months / year?

In the coming months, I am going to work out some ideas with aluminium foil. The last months I did some photographs with plastic I really liked. So now it is time for a different material. 

To contact and follow Vincenzo Dell’Avvento

vincenzophoto.com  I  info@vincenzophoto.com

facebook.com/vincenzo.dellavvento

Instagram @vincenzophotos

Leave a Reply

