Juan Cossio: blurring the line between realism and abstraction

ncty1hls2o1fqrsoauci
Childhood Dream, 95 x 165 cm. Acrylic on panel

Juan Cossío is a Spanish painter, with an international career, showing in New York, London, Paris and South Africa. He has a unique contemporary aesthetic which look to the female nude as its main subject.

His paintings are poetic and his recent work blurs the line between hyper realism and abstraction to create his own reality and define a unique style.

Juan, tell us about yourself: 

I live in Madrid. I received academic training in Art and History at the Complutense University of Madrid. From 1980, I worked as a Copyist at the Museo del Prado, where I studied from close observation and reinterpreted classical works of art; I studied under Spanish realist Antonio López García; and became a student of Manuel Franquelo, one of Spain’s leading hyperrealist painters from the New Realism movement of the 1970s.

image11
Giving up 185x 75 cm. Acrylic on panel

Tell us about your art and your artistic path. How did you become a hyperrealist painter?

I always had a realistic vision inherited from classical art, photography, comic…. I found pop art and its derivatives such as hyperrealism and photorealism were relevant and contemporary ways to express my ideas. Lately, I´m creating a more personal world where I mix abstraction and reality but were reality is fading, each time more and more. Presently, I’m going away from being labeled a realist if you see my latest works.

Recent works of Juan Cussio mixing realism and abstraction

How did you come to focus on female nude?

Female nude is for me the supreme idea of aesthetic.

boxed-in-180x120cms-acrylic-on-panel
Boxed, 180 x 120 cm Acrylic on panel

I was intrigued by your painting boxed. Can you tell me more about it?

My painting “Boxed in” is a reflexive point of view about the duality and the oppressive that reality and its circumstances can be.

Do you have an anecdote that you’d like to share?  

Just to tell that a dance group created a performance based on this painting “Boxed in”.

What is the question people you’re asked the most? How is it made ?

What are your projects for the coming months / year? I´m working to achieve some relevant number of my latest body of work to be exhibited in London or Cape Town.

Juan Cossio Website

Facebook

One comment

  1. fabulous!

    On Thu, Nov 24, 2016 at 3:57 PM, The Curious Frenchy wrote:

    > thecuriousfrenchy posted: “Childhood Dream, 95×165 cm acrylic on panelJuan > Cossío is a Spanish painter, with an international career, showing in New > York, London, Paris and South Africa. He has a unique contemporary > aesthetic which look to the female nude as its main subject. His ” >

    Like

Leave a Reply

